Review on SDLC and what it Stands for

What is SDLC and what does it stand for?

SDLC – otherwise known as software development life cycle, is a component that gives you the highest quality software at the cheapest of prices delivered to you in the quickest time frames. Giving customers the perfect software plan, this plan includes a clear guided tour on how to, amend, develop, replace and maintain system software. There are seven parts to this and each is as followed.

  • Planning.
  • Testing
  • Building
  • Design
  • Deployment.

Models include Spiral, Water, and Agile.

How does it work?

As stated above, SDLC works by shortening to production time giving customers a quick delivery time frame, whilst also shortening to cost down but maintaining too high standards of quality. This is achieved by evicting the ever so typical loopholes in development software. To do this, system developers access the present systems for low content quality then they compare them to what to new systems require. For the final structures of the procedure, the system then goes through the key components which include, designing, developing, testing and lastly dispatch.

To help ensure that the SDLC format runs smoothly there are several procedures to follow.

  • Problem Identification – this part includes gathering information from customers to get to the root problem. Knowing the problem will allow this to be fixed.
  • Planning – This stage will include planning what it is the company wants. Gathering all the costs for materials and the required resources to complete the task. In this stage, the risks will also be discussed.
  • Design – This stage will be where the SDLC decides what it is they want, once this is decided holders will then give feedback on any amendments or feedback. This part of the progress is vital to stakeholders and their opinions. Hitting failure at this stage will mostly end in over costs.
  • Building – according to, if all the previous steps have been followed with attention to detail this should be the easiest step to follow. This is the development stage.
  • Testing – the testing stage is where SDLC look for falls in the system and if any is found the problem will be diagnosed and fixed.
  • Deployment – this stage can be amended, depending on feedback from others.
  • Maintaining – The final step throughout the process is maintaining the system, to do this we need to keep up to date with evolution.

The top six SDLC action includes waterfall, agile, iterative, V-shaped, big bang and spiral. Each held its own significance.

There has been and continues to be, huge benefits from using SDLC format systems. When used correctly SDLC gives you the highest level of control. A lot of thought and planning goes into each project giving you the peace of mind that the developers know exactly what it is they want. Fixing any problems that occur during the process and making sure it is 100% before going out to the customers.

Checkmarx is a prime example of technology system operations. Offering up a free demo on their website so you can try it out and get a feel of what they have to offer before purchase is made.

Post Author: James Marshall'